Pluto’s Journal


 

appreciation

 

Wow! The young woman who wrote this post hit the proverbial nail on the head! I found her through Sarah.

I can relate in a lot of ways to what she’s saying. I love to be social, but I do not like to put myself out there to meet new people or put myself in new situations. If I had my druthers I’d be some sort of geek, hiding in my bedroom for days on end, ignoring the world outside my door just so I could stay within my comfort zone.

Regardless of the general sharing of emotions, that plane trip taught me that appreciating others is always worthwhile and positive if the appreciation is genuine. It has also compelled me to appreciate others whenever a situation to do so arises- not only is it beneficial to both parties, but it’s so easy. Saying thank you and expressing a sentence worth of “you are valuable and I appreciate what you do for me” takes seconds, but it can entirely change a person’s day. I hope you will all join me in taking those little opportunities to appreciate others and capitalize on them. I guarantee you will not be disappointed, and who knows; you might change a person’s life. I always hear the stories about people on the verge of committing suicide who change their decision based on a few words from a stranger- why couldn’t that stranger be any of us, in the right place at the right time?

This paragraph takes me back about twenty years! A friend and I had gone out to dinner and the food was really good. I wrote a note of thanks to the chef on one of the clean napkins and asked the server to deliver it. She came back with their verbal words of thanks. I think she said they even put it on the cork board back there! It made me feel good. I wasn’t nervous or anything about it because…well, I had worked in the service industry for a short while and knew what those words would mean. Those in the service industry get little enough thanks as it is, why would I want to make the situation worse?

Well said Avery, and thank you for the thought and memory.

About tj6james6

I write fanfiction for Southern Vampire Mysteries and True Blood. I pre-read/edit/beta others stories and I am attempting to get myself out of a rut and back into life rather than sitting here contemplating a blank page.

Posted on November 13, 2015, in NaNoPoblano, reblog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Give me some sugar!

Fanfiction by Bertie Bott

Where our favorite characters come out to play...

The Little Star

The Internet Home of Author Lu J Whitley

littletiger-neverlost

You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you

Fiction by Jenna Tee

Fanfiction and Original Fiction by Jenna Tee

