Remembrance Day


 

 

 

never forget

 

In honour of our Veterans this post is going out 2 hours and 11 minutes later than usual. 11:11 am is the time WWI ended and the time when we stop what we are doing and give a minute of thought or prayer to those who didn’t make it home, served, are serving or will serve our great countries (States and Canada).

Sarah’s Attic Of Treasures has an excellent post AND she linked to one of my favorite songs on YouTube. Give her a visit, you may learn something new.

 

I wrote this over the weekend and posted it at This ‘n That. It’s a mini-rant about the lack of Christmas spirit and the fact that, in my mind, Christ and our Veterans are forgotten.

Since today is November 11, Remembrance Day, I thought I would expand on that a little bit.

I know a lot of people (I live with one) think that without the military there would be no wars. I generally laugh in his face. There was war long before there was an organized military.

War.

I do agree with the sentiments of Edwin Starr though, it isn’t good for nothing!

This video has the lyrics.

I have mixed feelings about war in general, though. I don’t agree with the reasons wars are started. Greed. (I am by no means an expert so these are just my thoughts and feelings on the subject.)

I can agree with why they are continued…to end the greed and the oppression. To free those who were caught in the cross-hairs.

Far too many innocent lives have been lost because of war. There is no ‘safe’ place to have a war. The battleground is quite literally someone’s backyard, someone’s neighborhood. Someone’s husband, brother, son, daughter or mother is lost forever because of war.

I have friends and family who served: voluntarily or conscripted. It doesn’t really matter WHY they served, it only matters that they did. I count those who never made it home to see their loved ones again among the innocents who were lost.

They knew what they were getting when they served; that doesn’t mean they wanted to die. It does mean that they wanted to serve with pride and with dignity. They wanted to free the oppressed. They wanted the innocence to continue. They wanted the children to be children and play children’s games like catch and hopscotch. They wanted those mothers and fathers to be able to watch their children grow up and become adults so they could watch their own children…

They didn’t always get their wish. Some of those children never made it home at night. Those who did might have been lucky, or they might have arrived home to find their parents were no longer among the living.

My heart bleeds for the children, and the parents. My heart bleeds for humanity.

So, what is war good for? The loss of innocence and lives.

Thank you to all those who have, are, and will, serve in our militaries. Without them, we might just not be at all.

About tj6james6

I write fanfiction for Southern Vampire Mysteries and True Blood. I pre-read/edit/beta others stories and I am attempting to get myself out of a rut and back into life rather than sitting here contemplating a blank page.

Posted on November 11, 2015, in NaNoPoblano and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’d give you a hug if I could. Thank you for tag. I really appreciate it. More than you can imagine.
    Awesome post. I love the photo.
    Sarah

Give me some sugar!

Fanfiction by Bertie Bott

Where our favorite characters come out to play...

The Little Star

The Internet Home of Author Lu J Whitley

littletiger-neverlost

You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you

Fiction by Jenna Tee

Fanfiction and Original Fiction by Jenna Tee

