Pet Peeves


I’ve been going through past posts, looking at how far I’ve come in a year. It actually started as my looking for this post, where I learned the link only takes you to the current cartoon rather than the one which was originally there :(.

That is what brought on this second pet peeves post.

The Zits cartoon I was linking to above was supposed to be the one where the male gives the female (I don’t read enough to know who’s who) an awesome massage and she ends up a puddle on the floor; I’ll have to scan it into the computer and repost it I guess since I do have a hard copy of it.

Any way…that is one of my pet peeves…linking to something specific only to have it link to the home page instead.

I have a whole slew of pet peeves actually, they just don’t bother me unless someone’s writing sets them off. The biggest one recently seems to be passed for past.

When I read an otherwise wonderful fiction I want to hit them over the head with a large Oxford Dictionary and even larger Thesaurus so they’ll learn which word or tense is correct.

Ooooohhhhhhh, shutter for shudder as well! That one makes me want to reach through the screen, hit back space and correct the bloody thing!

What about you? What are your pet peeves? They don’t have to be about writing, I just spend far too much time in front of a keyboard so that’s where most of mine are…ohhhhh, yeahhhhhhhh, no one else apparently knowing how to wash dishes!

Not making sure the toothpaste is up at the top of the tube, instead squeezing it from the middle sigh.

Last minute plans without asking me if I want to do something, expecting me to just go with the flow.

About tj6james6

I write fanfiction for Southern Vampire Mysteries and True Blood. I pre-read/edit/beta others stories and I am attempting to get myself out of a rut and back into life rather than sitting here contemplating a blank page.

Posted on July 18, 2015, in posts. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Hmm…my biggest one right now is lies. (And not the little white ones like “No, you dont look fat in those pants,” or “Yes, you can have the last piece…I’m not hungry”. I mean REAL lies that affect others.) Could be because I found out last year that my STBX husband is a pathological liar who has lied to me about so many major things (his jobs, our finances, his sexual habits, etc.) in our 14-year marriage that he may as well be a complete stranger, but I feel like lately I’m encountering them everywhere. The news and politics these days seem to be nothing but lies, whether they’re blatant falsehoods or just putting an untrue “spin” on a story. One of my teammates at work is a habitual liar who thinks the rest of her team is blind and stupid as she’s absent or tardy multiple times a week with excuses that would be funny if they weren’t so insulting!

    OK…so I’ve rambled on a bit too long here and my pet peeve (which is really larger than a pet peeve) is probably exclusive to my f**ked up situation…but thanks for letting me vent anyway. 🙂

    • :), not a problem.
      Lies are an issue for most people I think. I don’t even like the little white ones. I’d much rather have them tell me those pants make me look fat than have the looks and jeers when out and about.
      Good luck with everything, it sounds like you need it during this long recovery from the machinations of an ex.

  2. people who don’t respond to my messages especially when I’ve asked a question! Not putting a manually driven car into first gear when stopped. not signalling when turning. more than two people walking together – slowly – you can’t get past them! People badgering you to update your work…not realising you actually have a life outside fanfiction/online writing…I’m sure there are more but can’t think of them at the present moment.

    • I’ve haven’t driven a stick shift since I was learning the second time around, it was standard breaks and transmission too!
      I don’t think there are a lot of people who have driven a standard transmission any more so they might not think of it.
      Not signalling when turning is a big one for me, or signalling so close to their turn or lane change that they might as well not have signalled in the first place.
      Sunday drivers during rush hour! You can’t get around them easily either. I do wish the police would patrol more diligently during those times and actually give tickets for driving too slowly and thereby causing traffic issues.
      I can empathize with the wanting updates since I want them as well but I draw the line at doing more than asking during an initial comment. Unless it has been a very long time, then I’m curious to see if they’re actually still around and interested in their story any more.

  3. Shutter instead of shudder drives me wacky too! Along with wearily when they meant warily – tired and suspicious are entirely different things…

Give me some sugar!

Fanfiction by Bertie Bott

Where our favorite characters come out to play...

The Little Star

The Internet Home of Author Lu J Whitley

littletiger-neverlost

You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you

Fiction by Jenna Tee

Fanfiction and Original Fiction by Jenna Tee

