Guest Reviews


I had a guest review over on ffn today for my one shot, The End.

The was terribly sad and unnecessary. Wish I hadn’t read it. This could of ended so much better but your ending was super bad and dumb.

I can understand someone not liking a story, really. There are plenty out there that I don’t like as well but if that’s the case I cut my losses and leave the story rather than a review. Why? Over there there’s no way to tell, just by looking at the numbers, whether the reviews are good, bad or indifferent and I don’t want to add any more of my presence to a story I didn’t enjoy than I already have (clicking the link counts as visiting the story).

Since it’s a guest review I can’t reply back to them and ask what they didn’t like about it. Since it’s in my top 5 of the one shots I’ve written (along with The House Always Wins, Sookie’s Gift and Looney Tooney) that I actually enjoy reading time and time again I can’t understand.

Maybe it’s because I don’t WANT to understand?

In both the books and the show Sookie didn’t evolve, or if she did she quickly devolved. She did stupid shit that didn’t get her anything but more heartbreak. She didn’t get the guy, she didn’t get the HEA I feel she should have had.

Mind you, Eric didn’t really have an HEA either.

They never spoke again after he talked to her to get her to talk to the douche.

In my opinion, and others considering the reviews I got on here for The End, they needed that last conversation. They needed closure.

Eric needed to let her know that she HAD hurt him and that he was moving on with his life and he wanted her to do the same.

When I look at their relationship now I see toxic written all over it.

What would you call a relationship where the participants couldn’t communicate? Where they were either constantly arguing or having make up sex? A relationship that your family and friends didn’t approve of?

I’ve been there, done that and own the damn t-shirt store!

It was time Eric took back the reigns in his own life and got on with the business of living instead of mourning that which was never really his to begin with. sigh

It was time he took his balls back from both Sookie and Pam and started being a man again! smile

Would I have liked it if he had told her he would be there when she was ready to move on? Hell yeah but in my eyes it would have still been more of the same: Miscommunication and toxicity.

I know at least one person asked for a sequel of sorts and I am working on it. It’ll be part of a writing challenge (not allowed to say which one) so it’ll be a while before you see it but it is in the works.

About tj6james6

I write fanfiction for Southern Vampire Mysteries and True Blood. I pre-read/edit/beta others stories and I am attempting to get myself out of a rut and back into life rather than sitting here contemplating a blank page.

Posted on July 6, 2015, in fanfic, rant, True Blood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I really enjoyed it. It just needed to be said for them at the end. He needed to move on and I agree with what you said in every way. Yes, I would have loved to see an HEA, but as it was, there was nothing…no closure, not anything really. We saw him in the show go on to have his successful company with Pam by his side, but it was like they wanted us to pretend he didn’t want or love or have anything other than his child. So, The End, IMO was perfect for that. I’m sorry you had that review for such a sweet, sad, simple story. Much Love!

  2. lostinspace33

    The story made me sad, too, but that doesn’t make it a bad story. Quite the contrary…a good story evokes emotion from its reader, and contrary to the beliefs of some, it doesn’t always have to be happiness. Would I love an E/S HEA? Of course! Wouldn’t we all? But Charlaine Harris didn’t give us one and neither did Alan Ball, so why should you have to? And what makes your story better than theirs is that it makes sense. I could have lived with the lack of an Eric and Sookie endgame in both SVM and True Blood if only their endings had actually made some sort of sense. Instead they were cheap, lame cop-outs. Your story was realistic even though it was sad, and that makes all the difference.

  3. I really like what you did with The End. Like Eric – and me- both got much needed closure!! There’s a part of me always clinging to a S/E hea, but the stunned reader/viewer in me secretly loves when Eric picks his balls up, digs down for the man he was pre-Sookied and tells her to kiss off in the kindest way because book and TV Sookie never grew and it was seriously time for him to come to grips with it. I know Eric was not a perfect character. But he *tried* which is more than I can say for Sookie!
    So yes while sad, The End was balm to this reader/viewers soul 💋

  4. Thought it was well written. Folks who leave that kind of stuff as as guest review need a life. Think about hitting the delete key and moving on. Saw lots of positive reviews from folks you know and recognize. Count what counts. Let the rest go!

    • Thank you :). I posted this and let it go.
      I have a life philosophy: If they have time to rag on my they need a life but I would still rather them annoy me than someone who doesn’t have such big shoulders :D.
      It’s in the past where it belongs.

  5. Wow woman! It just never stops! Be good to yourself. Toxic is right. Those folks are out there. Super bad and dumb. Very descriptive. Guess they are not a writer or maybe even ten. Rock On! We live you.

Give me some sugar!

Fanfiction by Bertie Bott

Where our favorite characters come out to play...

The Little Star

The Internet Home of Author Lu J Whitley

littletiger-neverlost

You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you

Fiction by Jenna Tee

Fanfiction and Original Fiction by Jenna Tee

