Would You Rather:


Thanks to Awkward Heather for the inspiration for this post :).

Would you Rather: Book Nerd Style

Read only trilogies or stand alones?
It’s been a long time since I read a stand alone novel, really. I love them to bits when I can find one that captures and keeps my interest. I like serial books but I love stand alones. I eventually get tired of the characters (Wheel Of Time by Robert Jordan and then Brandon Sanderson when Jordan died) so I lose interest and move on to something else.

Read only female or male authors?
Do I have to pick? As most of you know I’m in love with Marti Talbott and Stacy McKitrick right now and my all time favorite books were written by women (Ann of Green Gables series, Karen, Little House On the Prairie, I Heard the Owl Call My Name). I am also on board with Heather’s male picks and will add Andrew Butcher (Lansin Island series) so I have a compromise :D. Male/female coauthors! (How to Kill Your Senator)

Shop at bookshops or online?

If I had to choose, and didn’t have my ereader, book stores! More specifically used book stores.

I like the human experience. I like interacting with other book lovers. I love to see what parts of a book others found interesting and discussing those books with them live and in person! You can’t get that online. Sure, you can discuss books online till the cows come home but you can’t look into their eyes to see the truth of what they’re saying, you can’t physically touch them, you can’t see the impact your words have on them

All books become movies or T.V. shows?

Movies. Definitely movies. Heather made an excellent point when she said that the TV series of True Blood and Vampire Diaries went down the drain once the producers moved away from the book content. I can’t vouch for Vampire Diaries since I haven’t read or watched it (on my TBR list) but I can tell you that True Blood truly sucked once they moved away from book canon in the second season. Of course, we know how the book series ended so it’s probably just as well. sigh Thank god for fanfiction otherwise Sookie and Eric would NEVER get together!

Read 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?
Five books, definitely.

I’ve always loved to read. In fact one of my earliest memories is of reading.

I do have to say though that the number of books would depend on the length of the book. Most of what I’ve been reading lately have been done in a day but there are some, like North and South, War and Peace and Pride and Prejudice which would take more time because they are so much longer and more in depth than what I have been reading.

Be a professional reviewer or author?
Reviewer. While I love to write my imagination just ins’t up to it and I miss details others remember.

When I review a book I give my honest opinion, my imagination isn’t taxed and I can go back and reread a passage if my memory isn’t clear.

Only read your top 20 favorite books over and over or always read new ones that you haven’t read before?
I think I would get bored rather quickly if I could only ever reread my top 20 books so I am definitely going with always reading new books that I haven’t read before.

Be a librarian or bookseller?
Bookseller! Read what I said about shops or online. Libraries are awesome places, I used to love going there, still do sometimes, but I would rather have the book store.

Only read your favorite genre, or every genre except your favorite?
Ummmm, since I’ll read just about anything I don’t suppose it would make much difference.

Only read physical books or eBooks?
Actually, this would depend on whether we had power or not. If the world changed drastically and the end was upon us I don’t think there would be dependable electricity so my ereader would only last so long before it would have to be charged. In that case it would be physical books.

Perhaps we could leave libraries (I can’t remember the name of them but there are a couple in our neighborhood where people have built some sort of wooden structure and keep books there, in their yard, for people to swap out and exchange books without the need for a library card) around so we could share our experiences.

That’s the end of Would you Rather. What would your preferences be?

About tj6james6

I write fanfiction for Southern Vampire Mysteries and True Blood. I pre-read/edit/beta others stories and I am attempting to get myself out of a rut and back into life rather than sitting here contemplating a blank page.

Posted on May 16, 2015, in books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Give me some sugar!

Fanfiction by Bertie Bott

Where our favorite characters come out to play...

The Little Star

The Internet Home of Author Lu J Whitley

littletiger-neverlost

You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you

Fiction by Jenna Tee

Fanfiction and Original Fiction by Jenna Tee

