Oktoberfest


Okay, I’m strange, I admit it, but I DESPISE Oktoberfest!

It’s hard enough to get around town during construction season (we only have two seasons any way:  No way am I going out in that sh*t and construction) without the added *bonus* of closed streets due to the oh-so-wonderful celebration that is really just another reason to drink. Like a University town NEEDS another reason for its inhabitants to imbibe booze of all descriptions!

Add to that the buses and buses and buses of tourists and you would think we were in Munich, Germany rather than Kitchener, Ontario, Canada!

There are some cool things that happen like the car show and the RIDE Program and the Thanksgiving Parade since Thanksgiving is always the second Monday in October.

The RIDE Program is sponsored by the Region, the Grand River Transit Authority, the Regional Police and a few others; this program makes the bus rides free after 10:00 or 11:00 pm, and extends the hours some routes run, so the revelers can get home safely, and keep others who are on the roads safer as well.  This should be EVERY weekend, not just the two weekends of Oktoberfest and New Years Eve!

I would love to do some of the things they come up with like the car show and most years David Wilcox performs at both Oktoberfest and Bluesfest in August. Unfortunately panic attacks and claustrophobia (what a combination!) prevent me from doing stuff in crowded spaces, especially if it’s hard to get to an exit or there is only one exit.

It’s not any of the above though that made me dislike it in the first place, they just enhance my experience (cue sarcasm cue card) ten fold! The real reason is that it brings out the worst in people. People are ruder than ever, you can find sick (and other bodily functions) in the bushes, their inhibitions go out the window and, well, I’m not proud to be a human when those things happen.

If I could I would be ANYWHERE other than here for these ten days and nights I would be.

UBC-banner3

About tj6james6

I write fanfiction for Southern Vampire Mysteries and True Blood. I pre-read/edit/beta others stories and I am attempting to get myself out of a rut and back into life rather than sitting here contemplating a blank page.

Posted on October 16, 2014, in rant, share your world, ultimate blog challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Give me some sugar!

Fanfiction by Bertie Bott

Where our favorite characters come out to play...

The Little Star

The Internet Home of Author Lu J Whitley

littletiger-neverlost

You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you

Fiction by Jenna Tee

Fanfiction and Original Fiction by Jenna Tee

