How Do You Craft During Revision? | Fiction All Day


How Do You Craft During Revision? | Fiction All Day.

I wrote this comment, I don’t think I’ve ever made it a full hour without going back through the pages I’ve just written to correct the spelling and grammar!  All those red and blue lines, for me, detract from what I’m doing.  Of course, it doesn’t help that I look at the screen as I type so I see most errors as they happen so my OCD English Grammar Nazi cringes and makes me go back to correct before it will let me go forward.
That said:  I find it easier to read others work in order to correct than I my own.  I don’t edit for profit but for fun.

That  comment gave me another idea for the UBC.

As the readers of my stories know I also beta for other authors.

Why do I beta/edit?  It’s fun.  I enjoy it.  Mostly though I see a really awesome story in the rough but the spelling, grammar and other errors are just glaring at me and shouting that I need to fix them before my brain explodes from trying to edit the story in my head.

I enjoy the challenge of making something which is barely readable into something which the reading audience will totally eat up and enjoy many times in the future..

There are some books which I have read many times over through the years because the story grabbed my attention from the first word to the last and then there are other stories which shouted BORING as loud is it could from the first word.  Guess which books are in my personal library?

Books like Karen and I Heard the Owl Call My Name grabbed and held my attention from the very first letter and I didn’t put them down until the books were finished.

Then there are the series books which I devour and then reread when I hear the next in the series is due out soon.

Why did I side track to books from editing?  Easy:  those books and series had my attention from the beginning and, in some cases, have managed to hold my attention through some twenty odd books without losing something in the story line.

These authors manage to stay true to their characters and the story.  They keep their plots straight, they don’t deviate and even the minor plots and characters have your attention.

The good attention where you’re wondering what so and so will do in the situation they find themselves in even when that’s not the part you’re currently reading.

There’s bad attention to.  Things like “Huh?  I thought she turned into this animal.’ or ‘I thought his middle name was this’.  These things do generate attention, sure, but it usually leads to flame wars, tears, rants and threats rather than the adoration of fans because of a well written work.

The authors who grabbed my attention and have held it have kept it through the years had the pre-readers, editors and content editors who would point out the glaringly obvious errors that would turn the readers away from your books to other authors who had those persons in their arsenal.

I have read some so-so stories that turned into series but the longer the series went on the more glaringly obvious the errors became until I just couldn’t stomach it any more and simply stopped reading that author because they didn’t seem to care enough to keep track of their own characters and plots.

With all of that said, and having done my own deviation from the actual topic of this post, I thoroughly enjoy editing others work.    It keeps my brain active and I derive my own joy from helping someone else become better at something they enjoy :).

Thanks for reading.

About tj6james6

I write fanfiction for Southern Vampire Mysteries and True Blood. I pre-read/edit/beta others stories and I am attempting to get myself out of a rut and back into life rather than sitting here contemplating a blank page.

Posted on July 15, 2014, in posts, ultimate blog challenge, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Give me some sugar!

Fanfiction by Bertie Bott

Where our favorite characters come out to play...

The Little Star

The Internet Home of Author Lu J Whitley

littletiger-neverlost

You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you

Fiction by Jenna Tee

Fanfiction and Original Fiction by Jenna Tee

