Product Review


On Friday I bought an eMatic tablet for my boyfriend.  He wanted to be able to play his Facebook games, check email…nothing too overtaxing for a quad-core anything until you realize it does not support Adobe Flash.

The eMatic is an Android which I do not have an issue with since my cell phone is an Android.

This tablet is supposed to have 8 gigs of storage (they call it flash memory) but with all the preloaded crap, most of which I will not use, or use so rarely as to be never use any way, there is less than a gig to store the stuff you actually do want to download and use and, since you can’t delete any of the pre-loaded apps you can’t create more space.

I am disappointed, to say the least.

The eMatic is fairly easy to use and it does use Swipe technology so it’s easy to get from one screen to another but I found it to be slow to respond to commands, almost seeming to freeze up quite frequently during the few hours I attempted to use it.

It didn’t matter whether I used my finger or a stylus for document editing; it was still almost impossible to place the cursor exactly where I wanted it to be.  In fact, the stylus made it more difficult, especially for the Swipe to work.  The stylus, which is not included but I had on hand for other stuff, was great for the touch screen keyboard though and the letters on the keyboard are easy to see since the keys are big enough that my fingers weren’t hitting two or three keys at the same time.

So, the pros for the eMatic tablet:

wi-fi capable
easy to use
Swipe technology
Google based
Good sized touch screen keyboard

The cons:

slow to respond despite being a quad core
not a lot of storage
cannot delete pre-loaded applications
hard to get exact cursor placement for editing documents
does not support Adobe Flash player

All in all I would say the eMatic 7 HD quad core tablet was a big disappointment.  It will be going back to the store today and will be replaced with something which is hopefully more capable of doing the things I do the most.

About tj6james6

I write fanfiction for Southern Vampire Mysteries and True Blood. I pre-read/edit/beta others stories and I am attempting to get myself out of a rut and back into life rather than sitting here contemplating a blank page.

Posted on July 7, 2014, in posts, product review, something new, ultimate blog challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks :). I don’t like it either. I’m going to look at one of the Kobo tablets but we shall see what I can find in my price range.

  2. Good to know!
    Geez, hate when the preloaded takes up most of the drive.
    Goodluck with your next tablet!

Give me some sugar!

Fanfiction by Bertie Bott

Where our favorite characters come out to play...

The Little Star

The Internet Home of Author Lu J Whitley

littletiger-neverlost

You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you

Fiction by Jenna Tee

Fanfiction and Original Fiction by Jenna Tee

